Department of Mathematics


Current PhD Students


Name Research area Supervisor Email
Nina Anchugina The investigation of methods for ranking income streams and investment projects Arkadii Slinko and Matthew Ryan n.anchugina@auckland.ac.nz
Iman Ardekani Approximation Errors in Structural Wave Propagation Jari Kaipio i.ardekani@auckland.ac.nz
Martin Bachraty Marston Conder mbac631@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Peter Bratby Neural Network Models of the Cerebellum James Sneyd p.bratby@auckland.ac.nz
Pascal Cheon eche291@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Sean Curry Differential Geometry and Mathematical Physics (Overdetermined natural PDE, parabolic geometry, and applications) Rod Gover and Tom ter Elst sean.curry@auckland.ac.nz
Giovanni De Franceschi Conjugacy classes in classical groups Eamonn O'Brien and Jianbei An giovanni.defranceschi@auckland.ac.nz
Owen Dillon Linear Algebraic Considerations in Bayesian Approximation Error Approach Jari Kaipio owen.dillon@auckland.ac.nz
Nur Dinon Philip Sharp ndin840@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Tan Duc Do PDEs, Measure and approximation theory, Number theory Tom ter Elst and Shayne Waldron tan.do@auckland.ac.nz
Bartek Ewertowski differential geometry, cartan geometry, parabolic geometry, category theory A. Rod Gover bewe542@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Saeed Farjami Dynamical systems with focus on transient bursting in multi-scale neural networks Hinke Osinga and Vivien Kirk s.farjami@auckland.ac.nz
Keegan Flood Cartan Geometry, Manifold Decompositions, and Geometric PDE Rod Gover keegan.flood@auckland.ac.nz
Andrus Giraldo Global bifurcations involving periodic orbits of saddle type during a homoclinic flip bifurcations Bernd Krauskopf and Hinke Osinga a.giraldo@auckland.ac.nz
Hwan Goh Modelling Uncertainties in Quantitative Photoacoustic Tomography Jari Kaipio hwan.goh@auckland.ac.nz
Rui Gong The global and nonlinear stability theory for vortex-dominated flows. Shixiao Wang and Steve Taylor ru.gong@auckland.ac.nz
Gareth Gordon The Dirichlet-to-Neumann operator with partial data Tom ter Elst g.gordon@auckland.ac.nz
Anton Gulley Imaging the Alpine Fault through Fault Zone Guided Waves Jari Kaipio and Jennifer Eccles anton.gulley@auckland.ac.nz
Susana Guzman Mathematical and Statistical Modeling of Uncertainties in Mineral Exploration Jari Kaipio sguz318@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Sylvia Han Dynamical Systems and Mathematical Biology James Sneyd and Vivien Kirk jung.han@auckland.ac.nz
James Hannam Manifolds and Isochrones Hinke Osinga and Bernd Krauskopf james.hannam@auckland.ac.nz
Jesse Hart Pluripotential Theory In C^n Sione Ma'u and Shayne Waldron jesse.hart@auckland.ac.nz
Cris Hasan Slow-fast dynamics in higher-dimensional systems Hinke Osinga and Bernd Krauskopf cris.hasan@auckland.ac.nz
Austin Ibarra Mathematical Dynamics of Asthmatic Clustered Ventilation Defects Graham Donovan austin.ibarra@auckland.ac.nz
Jinesh Joseph
Jo Knox
Joel Laity Expander graphs and their applications to cryptography. Steven Galbraith joel.laity@auckland.ac.nz
Ben Lawrence Igor Klep ben.lawrence@auckland.ac.nz
Stephen Lo The symmetric genus of metabelian groups Marston Conder stephen.lo@auckland.ac.nz
John Moala Mathematics Education Caroline Yoon john.moala@auckland.ac.nz
Jeremie Moerenhout Highly Symmetric Polytopes Dimitri Leemans and Marston Conder j.moerenhout@auckland.ac.nz
Jose Mujica Torres Invariant and slow manifolds in multiple-time-scale systems. Bernd Krauskopf and Hinke Osinga j.mujica@auckland.ac.nz
Elle Musoke
Ruanui Nicholson PDE and lnverse Problems, with large flavours of homogenization, multiscale analysis/methods thrown in Steve Taylor and Jari Kaipio ruanui.nicholson@auckland.ac.nz
Nathan Pages James Sneyd npag780@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Roberto Panai The conformal geometry of submanifolds and natural PDE Rod Gover and Tom ter Elst roberto.panai@auckland.ac.nz
Sam Porath Conformal Geometry and its Application to General Relativity and Fundamental Physics Rod Gover and Warren Moors spor013@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Agnita Pramasdyahsari Caroline Yoon apra477@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Tertius Ralph Excluded Volume Effects of Diffusing Particle Systems Steve Taylor t.ralph@auckland.ac.nz
Anand Rampadarath Airway Lung Dynamics Graham Donovan a.rampadarath@auckland.ac.nz
Barak Shani Mathematics of public-key cryptography Steven Galbraith and Ben Martin barak.shani@auckland.ac.nz
Dhanya Surith Components of mathematical Knowledge at the tertiary levels Bill Barton and Judy Paterson dsur540@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Yan Bo Ti Algebraic geometry and applications in cryptography Steven Galbraith yan.ti@auckland.ac.nz
Rebecca Turner Mathematical models of animal navigation Claire Postlethwaite and Michael Walker rm.turner@auckland.ac.nz
Tomohiro Uchiyama Linear algebraic groups, geometric invariant theory, and spherical buildings. Ben Martin and Dimitri Leemans tuch540@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Attique Ur Rehman Computational Astronomy Philip Sharp and Robert Chan attique.ur-rehman@auckland.ac.nz
Elias Vera Siguenza James Sneyd
Jurij Volcic Igor Klep jurij.volcic@auckland.ac.nz
David Waters Modelling Complex Networks in T-Cell Signalling James Sneyd dwat206@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Iresha Wattegmaralalage Teaching Algebra with Digital Technology: Factors Influencing Mathematics Teachersí Task Development and Implementation Mike Thomas wrat271@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Shaun White Social choice and social networks Arkadii Slinko s.white@math.auckland.ac.nz
Chris Wong Elliptic operators with boundary conditions Tom ter Elst mwon535@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Susan Yang Dynamics of Mathematical Models with Three Timescales Vivien Kirk xyan900@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Pun Wong Yau The global and nonlinear stability theory for vortex-dominated flows Shixiao Wang and Stephen Taylor pyau003@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Simon Youl Structural Equivalence of Generalised Inverse Sequences Sina Greenwood and David Gauld syou076@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Weimin Yuan weimin.yuan@auckland.ac.nz
Wei-Juan Zhang Extensions of chiral polytopes Marston Conder and Dimitri Leemans weijuan.zhang@auckland.ac.nz
Di Zhu A Model of Saliva Secretion James Sneyd di.zhu@auckland.ac.nz



Top


Apply now


Handbooks

Postgraduate mathematics

Seminars & Colloquia


Connect with us

Facebook  Twitter 




Please give us your feedback or ask us a question

This message is...


My feedback or question is...


My email address is...

(Only if you need a reply)