Department of Mathematics


  • Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand award ceremony
    14 February 2017
    The award eremony for the 2016 Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand was held at the Auckland Museum on 13 February 2017. Congratulations to Professor Hinke Osinga for being elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand.
  • 2016 NZMS Colloquium Awards and Prizes
    08 December 2016
    The department received a number of awards and prizes at 2016 New Zealand Mathematical Society Colloquiums Dinner.
  • 2017 Kalman Visiting Fellowship
    29 September 2016
    The Department of Mathematics is pleased to announce that Dr Andy Hammerlindl from Monash University is the recipient of this year’s Kalman Visiting Fellowship.
  • Fellowship Success
    08 July 2016
    The Department of Mathematics is pleased to announce that Caroline Yoon and Eamonn O'Brien have recently been awarded Fellowships.
  • Summer Scholarships in Mathematics
    25 May 2016
    Summer Scholarships in Mathematics. Ever wondered what research in Mathematics is like? Want to give it a go? Applications Open Soon
  • 2016 Auckland Mathematical Olympiad
    20 May 2016
    On Saturday 14 May, the Department of Mathematics hosted its annual Auckland Mathematical Olympiad for secondary school students schools across our region
  • Teaching Excellence Award Success
    12 April 2016
    The Department of Mathematics is delighted to announce that `The Mathematics Collective,' who are Bill Barton, Tanya Evans, Julia Novak, Greg Oates, Mike Thomas and Caroline Yoon, have just been awarded a Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.
  • Rachel Passmore - President of Auckland Mathematics Association
    31 March 2016
    Rachel Passmore has been elected as the next president of the Auckland Mathematics Association (AMA), Auckland's professional organisation for secondary mathematics teachers.
  • Science subjects rate highly internationally
    22 March 2016
    Science subjects at the University of Auckland are highly placed in this year’s QS World University Rankings with the University rated number one in the country in almost all subjects.
  • Emeritus Professor Boris Pavlov (1936 - 2016)
    05 February 2016
    It is with sadness that we announce that our former colleague Emeritus Professor Boris Pavlov passed away on 30 January 2016.
  • Auckland Menger Sponge now complete
    22 December 2014
    The Department of Mathematics is pleased to announce that after a month and a half of hard work and sheer determination, their Menger Sponge is now complete.
  • Event to mark first woman winning ‘Nobel of mathematics’
    09 September 2014
    For the first time in its forty-year history the greatest prize in mathematics has been awarded to a woman and the University of Auckland is holding an event to celebrate.
  • Steven Galbraith selected as 2015 Aitken Lecturer
    08 July 2014
    Congratulations to Steven Galbraith who has been selected as the Aitken Lecturer for 2015.
  • Sir Vaughan Jones PhD scholarship
    21 March 2014
    We are delighted to announce the inaugural Sir Vaughan Jones PhD scholarship and a number of other funded PhD scholarships covering a number of research areas.
  • Dean’s Awards for Teaching Excellence
    28 January 2014
    Judy Paterson and Julia Novak are both recipients of Dean's Awards for Teaching Excellence
  • NZMS Research Award for Steven Galbraith
    11 December 2013
    Congratulations to Associate Professor Steven Galbraith who received the NZMS Research Award at the December 2013 NZ Math Colloquium.
  • International honour for mathematician
    01 October 2012
    University of Auckland Distinguished Professor Marston Conder has been selected to join the inaugural group of Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS).
  • Mathematician honoured
    03 November 2011
    Professor Rod Gover from the Department of Mathematics at The University of Auckland has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand.
  • Parliament’s next top model: simulating elections
    02 August 2011
    Either National or Labour would have won a clear majority, while the Greens, with the third largest party vote in 2008, would have few or no seats in parliament if recent elections were run under some of the voting systems in this year's referendum.
  • Distinguished mathematician receives inaugural Jones Medal
    11 November 2010
    Emeritus Professor John Butcher from The University of Auckland received the inaugural Jones Medal for lifetime achievement in mathematical sciences at the annual Research Honours Dinner last night in Christchurch.