2016 NZMS Colloquium Awards and Prizes

08 December 2016



The department did very well at the 2016 New Zealand Mathematical Society Colloquium's Awards and Prize Dinner. 

Saeed Farjami, PhD student with Hinke Osinga and Vivien Kirk, received the ANZIAM Prize for best poster with his poster 'Geometry of a Response'.

Naomi Gendler, masters student with Bernd Krauskopf and Neil Broderick (from the Department of Physics), received the Aitken Prize for best student presentation with her talk 'Pulse Dynamics of Fibre Lasers with Saturable Absorbers'.

Congratulations to all.

There were two recipients of the NZMS Award for Mathematical Research.

Bernd Krauskopf received the Research Award for 'Outstanding contributions to dynamical systems, especially bifurcation theory and its applications to diverse physical phenomena'. The other recipient was David Bryant from the University of Otago, who was previously a member of our department.

Finally, Vivien Kirk, Bernd Krauskopf and Hinke Osinga were accredited as Fellows of the NZMS 'in recognition of their contributions to mathematics and their professional standing in the New Zealand mathematical community'.

Naomi Gendler receiving the Aitken Prize from NZMS President Astrid an Huef.
Bernd Krauskopf receiving the NZMS Research Award from NZMS President Astrid an Huef.