Department of Mathematics


Our people

We have internationally recognised scholars on staff that are committed to the University's mandate of producing high quality research and teaching. You can view our staff profiles by searching the staff listing.



Staff and PhD Students

Name Phone +64 9 373 7599 Office* Email
Josephina Ah Sam 303e.152 j.ahsam@auckland.ac.nz
Jianbei An ext 88773 303.507 j.an@auckland.ac.nz
Nina Anchugina ext 88742 303S.375 n.anchugina@auckland.ac.nz
Iman Ardekani 104.135 i.ardekani@auckland.ac.nz
Martin Bachraty 303.236 mbac631@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Anna Barry 303.531 anna.barry@auckland.ac.nz
Padriac Bartlett ext 82448 303.413 p.bartlett@auckland.ac.nz
Bill Barton ext 88779 303.505 b.barton@auckland.ac.nz
Anthony Blaom ext 88740 303.503 a.blaom@auckland.ac.nz
Peter Bratby 303.520 p.bratby@auckland.ac.nz
Pascal Cheon B104-129 eche291@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Marston Conder ext 88879 303.417 m.conder@auckland.ac.nz
Sean Curry ext 82171 104.129 sean.curry@auckland.ac.nz
Giovanni De Franceschi 104.129 giovanni.defranceschi@auckland.ac.nz
Julie De Saedeleer ext 82121 303.418 j.desaedeleer@auckland.ac.nz
Owen Dillon 303S.371 owen.dillon@auckland.ac.nz
Nur Dinon 104.133 ndin840@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Tan Duc Do ext 82994 104.137 tan.do@auckland.ac.nz
Graham Donovan ext 88780 303.527 g.donovan@auckland.ac.nz
Tanya Evans ext 88783 303.414 t.evans@auckland.ac.nz
Bartek Ewertowski 303.252 bewe542@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Saeed Farjami ext 88789 303.214 s.farjami@auckland.ac.nz
Keegan Flood 104.128 keegan.flood@auckland.ac.nz
Steven Galbraith ext 88778 303.501 s.galbraith@auckland.ac.nz
David Gauld ext 88697 303.419 d.gauld@auckland.ac.nz
Andrus Giraldo ext 88789 303.214 a.giraldo@auckland.ac.nz
Hwan Goh 303S.371 hwan.goh@auckland.ac.nz
Rui Gong ext 82448 303S.361 ru.gong@auckland.ac.nz
Amanda Gordon ext 88777 303.405 a.gordon@auckland.ac.nz
Gareth Gordon 303e.253 g.gordon@auckland.ac.nz
A. Rod Gover ext 88792 303.427 r.gover@auckland.ac.nz
Sina Greenwood ext 88776 303.421 s.greenwood@auckland.ac.nz
Anton Gulley ext 85745 303S.371 anton.gulley@auckland.ac.nz
Susana Guzman 303S.469 sguz318@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Sylvia Han ext 88789 303.518 jung.han@auckland.ac.nz
James Hannam 104.136 james.hannam@auckland.ac.nz
Christoph Hanselka 303.329 c.hanselka@auckland.ac.nz
Jesse Hart ext 82171 104.129 jesse.hart@auckland.ac.nz
Cris Hasan ext 88789 303. 518 cris.hasan@auckland.ac.nz
Pedram Hekmati 303.329 p.hekmati@auckland.ac.nz
Stefanie Hittmeyer ext 82025 303.516 stefanie.hittmeyer@auckland.ac.nz
Austin Ibarra 104-136 austin.ibarra@auckland.ac.nz
Vaughan Jones vaughan.f.jones@Vanderbilt.Edu
Jinesh Joseph 303.230
Jari Kaipio ext 88818 303S.265 j.kaipio@auckland.ac.nz
Phil Kane ext 85750 303.528 p.kane@auckland.ac.nz
Andrew Keane ext 86577 303.513 a.keane@auckland.ac.nz
Vivien Kirk ext 88812 303.525 v.kirk@auckland.ac.nz
Igor Klep ext 84986 303.245 igor.klep@auckland.ac.nz
Jo Knox 303.163
Igor' Kontorovich ext 85746 303.503 i.kontorovich@auckland.ac.nz
Bernd Krauskopf ext 85704 303.524 b.krauskopf@auckland.ac.nz
Joel Laity 303.512 joel.laity@auckland.ac.nz
Ben Lawrence 303.520 ben.lawrence@auckland.ac.nz
Min-Ah Lee ext 88777 303.405 mina.lee@auckland.ac.nz
Dimitri Leemans ext 81430 303.517 d.leemans@auckland.ac.nz
Stephen Lo ext 82448 stephen.lo@auckland.ac.nz
Wesley Maciejewski 502 w.maciejewski@auckland.ac.nz
Jean-Francois Maheux ext 88791 303.508 j.maheux@auckland.ac.nz
Karren Maltseva ext 87639 336 k.maltseva@auckland.ac.nz
Gemma Mason 303.329 g.mason@auckland.ac.nz
Sione Ma`u ext 85865 303E.247 s.mau@auckland.ac.nz
John Moala 104.134 john.moala@auckland.ac.nz
Jeremie Moerenhout ext 82448 303S. 361 j.moerenhout@auckland.ac.nz
Warren Moors ext 84746 303.425 w.moors@auckland.ac.nz
Jose Mujica Torres ext 88789 303. 518 j.mujica@auckland.ac.nz
Elle Musoke 303.218
Garry Nathan ext 84931 303.511 g.nathan@auckland.ac.nz
Ruanui Nicholson ext 87856 303S.471 ruanui.nicholson@auckland.ac.nz
Julia Novak ext 84747 303.235 j.novak@auckland.ac.nz
Eamonn O'Brien ext 88819 303.401 e.obrien@auckland.ac.nz
Greg Oates ext 88605 303.511 g.oates@auckland.ac.nz
Hinke Osinga ext 85056 303.533 h.m.osinga@auckland.ac.nz
Nathan Pages 303.520 npag780@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Roberto Panai ext 85138 104.132 roberto.panai@auckland.ac.nz
Rachel Passmore ext 85750 303.528 r.passmore@auckland.ac.nz
Masina Po'e-Tofaeono 303.418 m.poetofaeono@auckland.ac.nz
Sam Porath spor013@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Claire Postlethwaite ext 88817 303.510 c.postlethwaite@auckland.ac.nz
Agnita Pramasdyahsari 104.131 apra477@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Anup Purewal ext 84335 303.333 a.purewal@auckland.ac.nz
Tertius Ralph 303.514 t.ralph@auckland.ac.nz
Anand Rampadarath 303.514 a.rampadarath@auckland.ac.nz
Nicolette Rattenbury
Tobias Rossmann 303.513 t.rossmann@auckland.ac.nz
Barak Shani ext 83769 303.514 barak.shani@auckland.ac.nz
Philip Sharp ext 88884 303.522 p.sharp@auckland.ac.nz
Arkadii Slinko ext 85749 303.509 a.slinko@auckland.ac.nz
James Sneyd ext 87474 303.519 j.sneyd@auckland.ac.nz
Stephanie Stone 303-405 s.stone@auckland.ac.nz
Sithra Sukumaar ext 85857 303.405 s.sukumaar@auckland.ac.nz
Dhanya Surith ext 88768 104.133 dsur540@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Steve Taylor ext 86622 303.523 s.taylor@auckland.ac.nz
Tom ter Elst ext 86901 303.243 t.terelst@auckland.ac.nz
Soizic Terrien s.terrien@auckland.ac.nz
Yan Bo Ti 303.520 yan.ti@auckland.ac.nz
Rebecca Turner ext 88533 303.512 rm.turner@auckland.ac.nz
Tomohiro Uchiyama ext 88781 104.130 tuch540@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Attique Ur Rehman 303S.371 attique.ur-rehman@auckland.ac.nz
Jaya Venugopalan ext 85510 303.G16 jaya@math.auckland.ac.nz
Elias Vera Siguenza 303e.231
Gabriel Verret ext 86901 303.411 g.verret@auckland.ac.nz
Jurij Volcic 303.520 jurij.volcic@auckland.ac.nz
Shayne Waldron ext 85877 303.415 s.waldron@auckland.ac.nz
Shixiao Wang ext 87316 303.529 sh.wang@auckland.ac.nz
David Waters 104.132 dwat206@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Iresha Wattegmaralalage 303S.375 wrat271@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Shaun White ext 85748 104.135 s.white@math.auckland.ac.nz
Mirko Wojnowski ext 85138 427A mirko@math.auckland.ac.nz
Chris Wong 104.135 mwon535@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Susan Yang 104.133 xyan900@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Pun Wong Yau ext 88533 303.512 pyau003@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Caroline Yoon ext 88740 303.503 c.yoon@auckland.ac.nz
Simon Youl ext 82448 303S.361 syou076@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Weimin Yuan 303.218 weimin.yuan@auckland.ac.nz
Wei-Juan Zhang ext 82448 303s.361 weijuan.zhang@auckland.ac.nz
Di Zhu 104.134 di.zhu@auckland.ac.nz



Top

Other information

* Office locations are indicated in the format Bld.Off where Bld is the Building number and Off is the room number. Building 303 is part of the Science Centre, at 38 Princes street. Building 104, the Old Choral Hall, is located at 7 Symonds street.


General Office - 4th floor 88777 303.405
Student Resource Centre - Ground floor 85510 303.G16
Top


Academic

Name Phone +64 9 373 7599 Office Email
Josephina Ah Sam 303e.152 j.ahsam@auckland.ac.nz
Jianbei An ext 88773 303.507 j.an@auckland.ac.nz
Anna Barry 303.531 anna.barry@auckland.ac.nz
Padriac Bartlett ext 82448 303.413 p.bartlett@auckland.ac.nz
Bill Barton ext 88779 303.505 b.barton@auckland.ac.nz
Anthony Blaom ext 88740 303.503 a.blaom@auckland.ac.nz
Marston Conder ext 88879 303.417 m.conder@auckland.ac.nz
Julie De Saedeleer ext 82121 303.418 j.desaedeleer@auckland.ac.nz
Graham Donovan ext 88780 303.527 g.donovan@auckland.ac.nz
Tanya Evans ext 88783 303.414 t.evans@auckland.ac.nz
Steven Galbraith ext 88778 303.501 s.galbraith@auckland.ac.nz
David Gauld ext 88697 303.419 d.gauld@auckland.ac.nz
A. Rod Gover ext 88792 303.427 r.gover@auckland.ac.nz
Sina Greenwood ext 88776 303.421 s.greenwood@auckland.ac.nz
Christoph Hanselka 303.329 c.hanselka@auckland.ac.nz
Pedram Hekmati 303.329 p.hekmati@auckland.ac.nz
Vaughan Jones vaughan.f.jones@Vanderbilt.Edu
Jari Kaipio ext 88818 303S.265 j.kaipio@auckland.ac.nz
Phil Kane ext 85750 303.528 p.kane@auckland.ac.nz
Vivien Kirk ext 88812 303.525 v.kirk@auckland.ac.nz
Igor Klep ext 84986 303.245 igor.klep@auckland.ac.nz
Igor' Kontorovich ext 85746 303.503 i.kontorovich@auckland.ac.nz
Bernd Krauskopf ext 85704 303.524 b.krauskopf@auckland.ac.nz
Dimitri Leemans ext 81430 303.517 d.leemans@auckland.ac.nz
Wesley Maciejewski 502 w.maciejewski@auckland.ac.nz
Jean-Francois Maheux ext 88791 303.508 j.maheux@auckland.ac.nz
Sione Ma`u ext 85865 303E.247 s.mau@auckland.ac.nz
Warren Moors ext 84746 303.425 w.moors@auckland.ac.nz
Garry Nathan ext 84931 303.511 g.nathan@auckland.ac.nz
Julia Novak ext 84747 303.235 j.novak@auckland.ac.nz
Eamonn O'Brien ext 88819 303.401 e.obrien@auckland.ac.nz
Greg Oates ext 88605 303.511 g.oates@auckland.ac.nz
Hinke Osinga ext 85056 303.533 h.m.osinga@auckland.ac.nz
Rachel Passmore ext 85750 303.528 r.passmore@auckland.ac.nz
Masina Po'e-Tofaeono 303.418 m.poetofaeono@auckland.ac.nz
Claire Postlethwaite ext 88817 303.510 c.postlethwaite@auckland.ac.nz
Nicolette Rattenbury
Philip Sharp ext 88884 303.522 p.sharp@auckland.ac.nz
Arkadii Slinko ext 85749 303.509 a.slinko@auckland.ac.nz
James Sneyd ext 87474 303.519 j.sneyd@auckland.ac.nz
Steve Taylor ext 86622 303.523 s.taylor@auckland.ac.nz
Tom ter Elst ext 86901 303.243 t.terelst@auckland.ac.nz
Soizic Terrien s.terrien@auckland.ac.nz
Gabriel Verret ext 86901 303.411 g.verret@auckland.ac.nz
Shayne Waldron ext 85877 303.415 s.waldron@auckland.ac.nz
Shixiao Wang ext 87316 303.529 sh.wang@auckland.ac.nz
Mirko Wojnowski ext 85138 427A mirko@math.auckland.ac.nz
Caroline Yoon ext 88740 303.503 c.yoon@auckland.ac.nz

Top
Research Fellows

Name Phone +64 9 373 7599 Office Email
Stefanie Hittmeyer ext 82025 303.516 stefanie.hittmeyer@auckland.ac.nz
Andrew Keane ext 86577 303.513 a.keane@auckland.ac.nz
Gemma Mason 303.329 g.mason@auckland.ac.nz
Anup Purewal ext 84335 303.333 a.purewal@auckland.ac.nz
Tobias Rossmann 303.513 t.rossmann@auckland.ac.nz

Top
Emeritus Staff

Name Phone +64 9 373 7599 Office Email
John Butcher butcher@math.auckland.ac.nz
Garry Tee tee@math.auckland.ac.nz
Mike Thomas moj.thomas@auckland.ac.nz

Top
Name Phone +64 9 373 7599 Office Email
Nina Anchugina ext 88742 303S.375 n.anchugina@auckland.ac.nz
Iman Ardekani 104.135 i.ardekani@auckland.ac.nz
Martin Bachraty 303.236 mbac631@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Peter Bratby 303.520 p.bratby@auckland.ac.nz
Pascal Cheon B104-129 eche291@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Sean Curry ext 82171 104.129 sean.curry@auckland.ac.nz
Giovanni De Franceschi 104.129 giovanni.defranceschi@auckland.ac.nz
Owen Dillon 303S.371 owen.dillon@auckland.ac.nz
Nur Dinon 104.133 ndin840@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Tan Duc Do ext 82994 104.137 tan.do@auckland.ac.nz
Bartek Ewertowski 303.252 bewe542@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Saeed Farjami ext 88789 303.214 s.farjami@auckland.ac.nz
Keegan Flood 104.128 keegan.flood@auckland.ac.nz
Andrus Giraldo ext 88789 303.214 a.giraldo@auckland.ac.nz
Hwan Goh 303S.371 hwan.goh@auckland.ac.nz
Rui Gong ext 82448 303S.361 ru.gong@auckland.ac.nz
Gareth Gordon 303e.253 g.gordon@auckland.ac.nz
Anton Gulley ext 85745 303S.371 anton.gulley@auckland.ac.nz
Susana Guzman 303S.469 sguz318@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Sylvia Han ext 88789 303.518 jung.han@auckland.ac.nz
James Hannam 104.136 james.hannam@auckland.ac.nz
Jesse Hart ext 82171 104.129 jesse.hart@auckland.ac.nz
Cris Hasan ext 88789 303. 518 cris.hasan@auckland.ac.nz
Austin Ibarra 104-136 austin.ibarra@auckland.ac.nz
Jinesh Joseph 303.230
Jo Knox 303.163
Joel Laity 303.512 joel.laity@auckland.ac.nz
Ben Lawrence 303.520 ben.lawrence@auckland.ac.nz
Stephen Lo ext 82448 stephen.lo@auckland.ac.nz
John Moala 104.134 john.moala@auckland.ac.nz
Jeremie Moerenhout ext 82448 303S. 361 j.moerenhout@auckland.ac.nz
Jose Mujica Torres ext 88789 303. 518 j.mujica@auckland.ac.nz
Elle Musoke 303.218
Ruanui Nicholson ext 87856 303S.471 ruanui.nicholson@auckland.ac.nz
Nathan Pages 303.520 npag780@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Roberto Panai ext 85138 104.132 roberto.panai@auckland.ac.nz
Sam Porath spor013@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Agnita Pramasdyahsari 104.131 apra477@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Tertius Ralph 303.514 t.ralph@auckland.ac.nz
Anand Rampadarath 303.514 a.rampadarath@auckland.ac.nz
Barak Shani ext 83769 303.514 barak.shani@auckland.ac.nz
Dhanya Surith ext 88768 104.133 dsur540@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Yan Bo Ti 303.520 yan.ti@auckland.ac.nz
Rebecca Turner ext 88533 303.512 rm.turner@auckland.ac.nz
Tomohiro Uchiyama ext 88781 104.130 tuch540@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Attique Ur Rehman 303S.371 attique.ur-rehman@auckland.ac.nz
Elias Vera Siguenza 303e.231
Jurij Volcic 303.520 jurij.volcic@auckland.ac.nz
David Waters 104.132 dwat206@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Iresha Wattegmaralalage 303S.375 wrat271@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Shaun White ext 85748 104.135 s.white@math.auckland.ac.nz
Chris Wong 104.135 mwon535@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Susan Yang 104.133 xyan900@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Pun Wong Yau ext 88533 303.512 pyau003@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Simon Youl ext 82448 303S.361 syou076@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Weimin Yuan 303.218 weimin.yuan@auckland.ac.nz
Wei-Juan Zhang ext 82448 303s.361 weijuan.zhang@auckland.ac.nz
Di Zhu 104.134 di.zhu@auckland.ac.nz


Departmental Manager

Name Position Phone +64 9 373 7599 Office Email
Lynda Pitcaithly Department Manager ext 88063 303.403 l.pitcaithly@auckland.ac.nz



Top


Math administrative staff

Name Position Phone +64 9 373 7599 Office Email
Min-Ah Lee Academic Administrator ext 88777 303.405 mina.lee@auckland.ac.nz



Top


Academic Administration

Name Position Phone +64 9 373 7599 Office Email
Bill Barton Head, Mathematics Education Unit ext 88779 303.505 b.barton@auckland.ac.nz
Marston Conder Postgraduate Coordinator (Honours and Postgraduate Diploma students) ext 88879 303.417 m.conder@auckland.ac.nz
Tanya Evans Undergraduate Coordinator ext 88783 303.414 t.evans@auckland.ac.nz
Steven Galbraith Chair of Academic Committee ext 88778 303.501 s.galbraith@auckland.ac.nz
A. Rod Gover PhD Coordinator ext 88792 303.427 r.gover@auckland.ac.nz
Bernd Krauskopf Chair of Research Committee ext 85704 303.524 b.krauskopf@auckland.ac.nz
Warren Moors Postgraduate Coordinator (Masters, International and Exchange students) ext 84746 303.425 w.moors@auckland.ac.nz
Julia Novak Undergraduate Coordinator ext 84747 303.235 j.novak@auckland.ac.nz
Eamonn O'Brien Head of Department ext 88819 303.401 e.obrien@auckland.ac.nz
Hinke Osinga Head, Applied Mathematics Unit ext 85056 303.533 h.m.osinga@auckland.ac.nz
Philip Sharp Deputy Head of Department ext 88884 303.522 p.sharp@auckland.ac.nz
Tom ter Elst Head, Analysis, Geometry and Topology Unit ext 86901 303.243 t.terelst@auckland.ac.nz



Top




Please give us your feedback or ask us a question

This message is...


My feedback or question is...


My email address is...

(Only if you need a reply)

A to Z Directory | Site map | Accessibility | Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer | Feedback on this page